A glass of wine helps the medicine go down

5 Aug

I’m not great at dismissing suitors.  Giving the “we are better off as friends” speech is like sniffing a petting zoo floor. Thus, I’ve found thousands of alternatives to giving the guy the boot.  My favorite being ignoring his every attempt to contact me. That is about as clear cut as an answer can be.  I’m not playing “hard to get”.  I’m playing “getting is no longer an option.”

So, I’ve always considered myself to be pretty straightforward when it comes to relationships.  But who’s to say what constitutes as playing games?

Well, here’s the back story.

Recently, I went on a date with a new guy.  Things went well and he suggested we go out again the very next day.  I agreed.  The second date involved a couple drinks.  He was already calling me pet names.  We even went to my best friend Bakers house, where he proceeded to do magic tricks.  I was not impressed.  I don’t care if you know what card I picked. Unless you can make problems disappear, you can keep your cape in the closet and the wand in your pants. But, at the end of the night I had a sweet buzz. We talked about going to see a movie the following day. When I woke up I was feeling less than enthusiastic.  Not because I didn’t like him, but because hangovers tend to have that effect.  He had sent me a good morning text and I responded. I had a missed call from him later that day when I was trying to nap off my headache.   I checked my phone again and he sent a text asking if we should reschedule.  I told him that would be best and I hoped it wasn’t a problem.  I honestly was relieved because I felt 3 dates in 3 days was a bit much, yet I still felt a twinge of guilt as if I was bailing on him last minute.  He came by my work the following day to see how I was feeling. In his defense he really was in the neighborhood. He has made it abundantly clear that he likes me.  In fact, to describe him as eager would be an understatement.  Midweek he invites me to dinner on Friday night.

Friday night he bails and reschedules for Saturday night.  Saturday night he bails because he is working late.  Excuse me.  Last weekend you were obsessed with me.  I rescheduled one date, for sound reasons.

I’m 27 minutes sober and extremely irritable.

What the hell? Why aren’t you obsessed with me this weekend? Does he think he is giving me a taste of my own medicine? Because, believe this, he is medicating the wrong person.  If he wants to play hospital, I hope he knows how to operate.

And to make matters worse, I find him much more appealing now that he isn’t treating me like the queen that I am.

Shit, I think I just got doctored.  Does any one else keep wine in their medicine cabinet?

2 Responses to “A glass of wine helps the medicine go down”

  1. Sakeenah Aleem August 5, 2015 at 8:44 pm #

    Interesting. Three dates oh three days is a bit much but if you were really into him, it would have been fine. Go with your first instinct, you are not feeling him!

    • TBT August 6, 2015 at 4:48 am #

      It’s true, I wasn’t. I guess I’m looking for that instant attraction I rarely have.

Bitch about it!

